The Glorious Tree

My entry for the generous annual holiday contest presented by one of the premier children’s books web sites. I highly recommend visiting her informative and beautiful site. (See below)

SUSANNA LEONARD HILL

CHILDREN’S AUTHOR
    W E L C O M E
https://susannahill.com

THE GLORIOUS TREE

by Carol Samuelson-Woodson
On the First Day of Christmas, my parents say to me,
“You’re quite old enough for your own Christmas tree.”
On the Second Day of Christmas, I decorate with glee.
Two Turtle Doves flutter wings nervously.
On the Third Day of Christmas, my decorations flee.
Three French Hens, two Doves flying free.
On the Fourth Day of Christmas, I wake the family.
Four Calling Birds squawk incessantly.
On the Fifth Day of Christmas, I hang some finery.
Five Golden Rings, solid gold with guarantee.
On the Sixth Day of Christmas, I fail to foresee
Six Geese-a-Laying till the eggs reach my knee.
On the Seventh Day of Christmas, oh, what can it be?
Seven Swans a-Swimming and a stiff plumber’s fee.
On the Eighth Day of Christmas, I view with certainty
Eight Maids-a-Milking. Catastrophe!
On the Ninth Day of Christmas, in disbelief I see
Nine Ladies Dancing to a brisk melody.
On the Tenth Day of Christmas, a lively company,
Ten Lords-a-Leaping tilt the tree crazily.
On the Eleventh Day of Christmas, in perfect harmony,
Eleven Pipers Piping, inspiring revelry.
On the Twelfth Day of Christmas, the house rocks dangerously.
Twelve Drummers Drumming threaten sanity.
Christmas is here and the neighbors agree.
Time to dress up and join the jamboree.
Finally it’s time. I shovel up debris,
smelly and wet—’twas a glorious tree!

3 thoughts on “The Glorious Tree

    • Thanks, Susanna. So happy I found your contest & beautiful site. btw, i am embarrassed about the meter; I was torn between consistency & following the tune. Thanks, again.
      And, thanks, Vivian!I’m not exactly a whiz with Inet. So nice of you to take time to “figure it out.” I really appreciate!!!

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Carol…this is hilarious. Your link didn’t work which is why you haven’t gotten more comments…but we figured it out…and I’m so glad. The stiff plumber’s fee! Drummers threaten sanity! Oh my goodness…you are a great rhymer! Well done. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

